Lessons From My Father

I’m a total “Daddy’s Girl.”  I admit it.  Even though I am without my father for the first time ever this Father’s Day, I can still hear his lessons repeating themselves in my ear like a great sitcom on late night television.

“Don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t when your gut knows you can.”

My father empowered me.  He taught me that it didn’t matter that I was a girl, I could do anything.  A big statement given the fact that I was raised with a Greek mother who had more traditional roles for me in mind.  I was a bit of a tomboy and very outspoken (ok, I still am), but he made me stronger.

“The best you’ll ever get is the least you are willing to settle for.”

He drove me to become the person I am.  My work ethic, my sense of humor, my deep sense of family and my fearlessness I owe all to him.

So today, on the day that we honor all of our fathers, I tilt my head back towards heaven and say, “Thank you Dad, for making me the person I am. I miss you and I love you and hope you are smiling back at me because you are proud.  Oh, and please tell Mom I love her too.”

Happy Father’s Day!

About Patti Kenyon

By day, Director of Human Resources at an underground utility company. By night, a mom, a wife, a geek, an xBox gamer, an animal lover, an avid watcher of anything paranormal and a coffee addict. I shoot from the hip. My priorities are God, family, and everything else falls underneath. The blogs I post are my opinion alone and not affiliated with any organization I may be associated with.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment