The All Powerful “i”

vote symbol: information

Image via Wikipedia

If anyone has any doubts about Steve Jobs’ influence on the world, one only needs to turn on the television and watch a few commercials.  It seems that manufacturers have decided that putting an “i” in front of a product name, will cause people to line up to buy it.  But I think it’s gone to the extreme and dare I say, even absurd.  Let me give you an example, and I warn you, sarcasm runs amuck.

Everyone knows the iPhone, the iPad, the iCloud and of course, the iPod.  But did you know that there is an iHeater?  How about the iCook?  Let us not forget about the iBed or even the ultimate cure for menopausal symptoms, the iCool.  Really, I’m not making these up. What’s next?  If you’re thinking the iCondom, you’re too late, it’s already been done.  Want to see more?  Just Google it, you’ll find them.  The list is endless and ridiculous at the same time.

Should we be a little offended?  I mean, do these manufacturers really think that adding a lower case “i” will trigger some inner mechanism in our brain that will force us to buy their products?  Are they really delusional to think that this all-powerful “i” will elevate their product to the level of their predecessor?  Maybe Apple should try for a patent of the 9th letter of our alphabet?  Regardless, i am completely confident that we haven’t seen the end.  Not by a long shot.

About Patti Kenyon

By day, Director of Human Resources at an underground utility company. By night, a mom, a wife, a geek, an xBox gamer, an animal lover, an avid watcher of anything paranormal and a coffee addict. I shoot from the hip. My priorities are God, family, and everything else falls underneath. The blogs I post are my opinion alone and not affiliated with any organization I may be associated with.
This entry was posted in You've got to be kidding me!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment